## XIIth International Workshop on the Physics of Compressible Turbulent Mixing



# IWPCTM12

## http://iwpctm12.imamod.ru

### **Second Announcement**

## Scope

This workshop investigates the fundamental aspects of turbulent mixing in buoyancy and shear driven flows that are hydrodynamically unstable in both the compressible and incompressible regimes. Specific topics include:

Rayleigh-Taylor Instability,
Richtmyer-Meshkov Instability,
Kelvin-Helmholtz Instability,
Coherent Structures to Turbulent Mixing Layers,
Experimental, Numerical, Modeling and Theoretical Studies,
Simple Flows to Complex Applications,
Connected Problems

The workshop will have ORAL and POSTER presentations, ROUNDTABLE discussions. Proceedings will be published after the workshop.

### Venue

The workshop will be held at the Building of Russian Academy of Sciences (32A Leninskii prospect, Moscow). It near to city centre and the Moscow Kremlin.

# **Important Dates**

June 2009	First Announcement,	Website available

September 2009 Second Announcement

December 2009 Registration and abstract notification

January 1, 2010 Submission starts

## March 14, 2010 Abstract submission deadline

April 18, 2010 Program available on website Submit electronic presentations

April - June, 2010 Hotel reservation June 20, 2010 Registration deadline

June 30, 2010 Electronic presentation submission deadline

July 12, 2010 Workshop begins—evening reception

July 13-17, 2010 Presentations

October 2010 Deadline for submission in proceedings

January 2011 Proceedings published

# Accommodations, Food & Registration

Accommodations should be reserved by each attendee (not by organizers) at the Academicheskaya Hotel at a rate of \$ 149-199 per night (Sunday-Thurs night). This is currently available and you must mention the IWPCTM for the special rate. A list of other hotels (some cheaper or more expensive) will be provided on the IWPCTM12 website. Registration fee is not yet finalized but the amount will be comparable to previous workshops. Fee will include breakfasts, lunches, refreshments, a reception on Monday evening and a banquet on Thursday evening. Roundtable discussions will be held Friday evening with refreshments.

### Visa Information:

To arrange visas participants are requested to advise the Secretary Mrs. Lyubov Kovaleva (IMM RAS) (via fax: (+7499) 972-0723 or e-mail: Lubov.Kovaleva@imamod.ru) as soon as possible their and accompanying persons\* full names, date of birth, a copy of passport, passport number, passport validity, citizenship, arrival/departure dates, Fax number, E-mail address, exact city of the Russian Consulate or Embassy where a participant will apply for a visa, and itinerary inside Russia. As soon as there is be a permission invitation number advised to a participant, he/she should apply to the Russian Consulate or Embassy for his/her entry visa for Russia. Please note: those working outside their native countries should fax RESIDENCE PERMIT or the other identification document to the Secretary otherwise their documents on visas will not be accepted by the Department of Consular Service.

### **Electronic Submissions**

Abstracts and proceeding papers should be submitted in electronic form with MSWORD or PDF. Figures must be in .TIF or .EPS files. Presentations should be submitted in MSPOWERPOINT or PDF. **POST DEADLINE SUBMISSIONS MAY FAIL TO BE INCLUDED.** 

### **Contacts**

A special E-mail account for questions and comments to the Local Organizing Committee will be established. Other inquiries can be made to Associated member of RAS Boris N. Chetverushkin 125047, Miusskaya Sq., 4a, Moscow, Russia

Phone +7(499) 972-1159, +7(495) 250-7986,

e-mail: chetver@imamod.ru

Other contacts and more detailed instructions will be described on the WEBSITE http://iwpctm12.imamod.ru/

# Local Organizing (LO) and Program (P) Committees

Vladimir E. Fortov (LO-P), Co-Chairman

Boris N. Chetverushkin (LO-P), Co-Chairman

Vladimir F. Tishkin (LO-P), Vice Chairman

Eduard E. Son (LO-P), Vice Chairman

Vladislav B. Rozanov (LO-P)

Alexandr V. Kolesnichenko (LO-P)

Yuri V. Yanilkin (LO-P)

Galina I. Zmievskaya (LO-P)

Mikhail M. Gorbunov-Posadov (LO)

Sergey V. Polyakov (LO)

Tatyana K. Kozubskaya (LO)

Ludmila V. Klochkova (LO)

Mikhail V. Iakobovskii (LO)

Marina E. Ladonkina (LO)

Ivan G. Lebo (LO)

Alexandr I. Maslov (LO)

Nadezhda G. Proncheva (LO)

Nikolay V. Zmitrenko (LO)

### **International Scientific Committee**

- M. Andrews (LANL)
- D. Besnard (CEA)
- S. Dalziel (Cambridge University)
- G. Dimonte (LANL)
- D. Drikakis (Cranfield University)
- S. Gauthier (CEA)
- J. Glimm (StonyBrook)
- J. F. Haas (CEA)
- R. Holmes (LANL)
- L. Houas (IUSTI)
- J. Jacobs (U. Arizona)
- Yu. Kucherenko (Russian Federal Nuclear Center VNIITF)
- M. Legrand (CEA)
- E. Meshkov (Russian Federal Nuclear Center VNIIEF)
- P. Miller (LLNL)
- V. Neuvazhaev (Russian Federal Nuclear Center VNIITF)
- J. Redondo (U. Politecnica de Catalunya, Barcelona)
- V. Rozanov (Lebedev Physical Institute, Moscow)
- O. Schilling (LLNL)
- D. Shvarts (Nuclear Research Center, Beer-Sheeva)
- E. Son (Joint Institute for High temperature RAS)
- H. Takabe (U. Osaka)
- K. Takayama (Tohoku U., Sendai)
- R. Williams (AWE)
- D. Youngs (AWE)

# Previous workshops in series

Princeton, NJ, USA (1988)

Pleasanton, CA, USA (1989)

Royaumont, France (1991)

Cambridge, UK (1993)

Stony Brook, NY, USA (1995)

Marseille, France (1997)

St. Petersburg, Russia (1999)

Pasadena, CA, USA (2001)

Cambridge, UK (2004)

Paris, France (2006)

Santa Fe, New Mexico(2008)

Information about past workshops can be found at www.iwpctm.org.